Where to take leftover paint in Anne Arundel County, MD (unofficial)
Latex: solidify, then any recycling center year-round — not the HHW Saturday. Oil: six Saturdays at Heritage Office Complex. Rentals refused. PaintCare OK (locator only). Last checked 15 Sep 2026
Hours, fees, and event dates change. Confirm on the official page the morning you go. This page is unofficial and not the county. Not a hauler. City of Annapolis is a separate program.
Which kind is it?
1
Latex / water-based leftover?
Recycling center · solidify first
Not accepted curbside. Not the HHW Saturday path for disposal of liquid latex as HHW. 2026 brochure: solidify with kitty litter, sawdust, or dirt; seal in original container; drop at any County Recycling Center year-round. FAQs also point to PaintCare for latex and oil house paint up to 5 gal.
2
Oil-based paint, stains, solvents?
HHW Saturday only
Hazardous. Only on scheduled HHW Saturdays (not recycling centers, not landfill — oil-based paints and liquids are on the centers’ not-accepted list). 2026 dates: 3/21, 4/18, 5/16, 6/6, 9/12, 10/10 — all at Heritage Office Complex, 2662 Riva Rd, Annapolis, 8:00 a.m.–2:00 p.m.
3
Want a year-round retail drop for house paint?
PaintCare MD · locator
Maryland PaintCare (statewide). Free drop-off for qualifying architectural coatings. Use the locator — this page does not list stores. Typical site cap often 5 gal/visit (confirm with the site). Hotline 855-724-6809.
4
Driving a rental, dump truck, flatbed, box truck, or rental trailer?
Refused
HHW: commercially registered vehicles, including rentals, and commercial waste not accepted. Recycling centers: solid waste in rental / dump / flatbed / stake / box / rental-trailer / double-axle trailer not accepted. Bring a personally registered passenger vehicle with Anne Arundel DL + registration.
5
Live in the City of Annapolis?
Separate program
County FAQs say Annapolis has its own recycling program. Do not assume County recycling centers or HHW apply. Check annapolis.gov.
Where to go
Latex · County Recycling Centers (year-round)
Hours
Monday–Saturday 8:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m. (all three centers)
Off site 15 minutes after close
Max ~5 minutes unloading per material. Sunday hours: not stated as open. Holiday clock: not stated on the recycling-centers page fetched. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Anne Arundel County residents. Show Anne Arundel County driver’s license and vehicle registration. Businesses: paper/plastic/metal/glass only (not paint). Rentals and listed commercial vehicle types refused for solid waste. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
What they take
Solidified latex paint (brochure: mix with kitty litter, sawdust, or dirt; seal in original container). Also motor oil / antifreeze (unmixed), propane 1 lb & 20 lb, cooking oil, electronics, and other posted streams. Oil-based paints and liquids: not accepted. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Fee
Residential recycling-center use as posted; paint-specific fee: not stated. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Cap
Numeric latex gallon cap: not stated. Unloading time limit ~5 minutes per material. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
2662 Riva Road, Annapolis, MD 21401 (Heritage Office Complex; between County Pool and Board of Education per brochure). Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Who
Anne Arundel County residents only. Show Anne Arundel County driver’s license and registration. Commercially registered vehicles, including rentals, and commercial waste not accepted. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
What they take
Oil-based paints & staining agents, paint solvents, pesticides, cleaners, fuels, rechargeable batteries, and the posted accepted list. Page also lists latex and oil-based paints among accepted event materials and points to PaintCare for retail year-round. Brochure: latex is accepted year-round at recycling centers (solidify) — prefer that path for latex, not the Saturday event. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Fee
Resident event fee: not stated as charged (program cost described county-side). Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Cap
Paint gallon cap: not stated. Asbestos: limit 4 bags / 40 lb each / max 160 lb per event (wet, double-bagged). Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Six Saturdays in 2026, 8 a.m.–2 p.m. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Last-checked
15 Sep 2026
PaintCare Maryland (locator — no store list)
Hours
Site hours vary — call the store
Do not clone the PaintCare site database. Link the locator only. Maryland program operating statewide (plan start 1 Apr 2026). Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Use the locator. This page does not list store addresses. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Who
Households and others with leftover architectural paint in the PaintCare state (Maryland). Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
What they take
House paint, primer, stain, sealer, shellac, varnish that carried the PaintCare fee. Aerosols / leaking / unlabeled / empty: typically not accepted — confirm with PaintCare. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Fee
Free drop-off. Point-of-sale fee on new paint in MD (half-pint $0; larger than half-pint to <1 gal $0.50; 1–2 gal $1.15; >2 to 5 gal $2.25). Not a tax or deposit. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Cap
Typical sites up to 5 gallons per visit; some take more — call the site. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.