Programs, fees, and which scrap yards recover refrigerant change. Confirm on the official page the morning you go. This page is unofficial and not the county. Not a hauler. Not the EPA. Not Best Buy. Not Home Depot. This is the national Freon appliances explainer — the Montgomery County geo freon page is a different lookup. We do not scrape Earth911, retailer, or utility databases.
Affiliate disclosure: If a haul link below is marked affiliate, MoCo Drop-Off may earn a commission when you book through it. Placeholder only until the owner applies. See disclosure.
Which kind is it?
-
1
Buying a new fridge, freezer, or major appliance and want the old one gone?
Retailer haul-away
Ask at purchase for haul-away / recycling with delivery. ENERGY STAR: many retailers pick up the old fridge or freezer when you buy a new ENERGY STAR model; ask for assurance it will be properly recycled (not resold as an inefficient used unit). Prefer retailers that partner with EPA’s Responsible Appliance Disposal (RAD) program when offered. Best Buy: $49.99 for one major appliance (incl. refrigerators/freezers) when they deliver a replacement; Standalone Haul-Away $199.99 for up to 2 large products — no large appliances in-store. Home Depot: haul-away often available with delivery for select appliances; availability and extra charges vary by area — ask when you buy. Empty the old unit before pickup.
-
2
Keeping the old fridge but not buying new today?
Utility / ENERGY STAR program · or municipal scrap
ENERGY STAR lists four national paths: (1) retailer when buying ENERGY STAR, (2) state energy office or local electric utility recycling programs (some pay cash or bill credits), (3) municipal heavy-trash / appliance pickup, (4) local scrap metal recycler — ask for assurance of proper recycling. Use Earth911 or your county solid-waste page to find local options — link only, no scrape.
-
3
Household fridge, freezer, window AC, or dehumidifier (sealed unit)?
Recover refrigerant · then scrap / recycle
EPA: these typically enter the waste stream with refrigerant charge intact. The final person in the disposal chain (scrap recycler or landfill) must ensure refrigerant is recovered before final disposal. Do not vent. Prefer a municipal scrap pad, retailer haul-away, utility program, or scrap yard that recovers refrigerant. EPA: individuals recovering refrigerant from small appliances when preparing them for disposal are not required to be Section 608 certified technicians, but recovery equipment must meet EPA standards. For servicing/repair of small appliances, technicians recover 80% or 90% of refrigerant (or evacuate to 4 in. Hg vacuum) per EPA service practice rules.
-
4
Central home AC, chiller, or other equipment dismantled on site?
Recover before disposal · servicing rules
EPA safe disposal: equipment typically dismantled on-site (examples: central residential air conditioning, chillers, retail food refrigeration, industrial process refrigeration) must have refrigerant recovered under EPA servicing requirements before disposal. Hire a qualified Section 608 technician for service/disposal recovery — do not cut lines or vent.
-
5
Thinking of cutting the Freon lines, trash, or bulk without recovery?
Usually illegal / wrong path
EPA prohibits intentional venting of ODS refrigerants and non-exempt substitutes during maintenance, service, repair, or disposal. ENERGY STAR: refrigerants, oils, and other compounds must be removed and recovered by federal law before metals are recycled. Bulk trash programs often refuse Freon units or treat ≥51% metal as scrap — check your county. MoCo: Freon → scrap-metal pad, not HHW, not bulk (see geo page).
-
6
Montgomery County, MD resident?
Geo page · Shady Grove scrap-metal pad
Use freon appliances (geo) or live mocodropoff.com/freon-appliances. How Do I refrigerants: Scrap Metal Drop-off, Recycling Area; hand to attendant; county evacuates on site. Not HHW. Curbside scrap metal (County-provided recycling) also takes fridges/freezers/AC with empty-and-doors rules. This national page does not invent MoCo Sunday gates or pad clocks.
Kind → path (national pattern)
Freon appliance kind to disposal path
| Kind |
Typical path |
Notes |
Last-checked |
Source |
| Fridge / freezer (buying new) |
Retailer haul-away / RAD partner |
Ask recycling assurance. Best Buy $49.99 with replacement delivery; HD: ask at purchase (fee varies). |
14 Sep 2026 |
ENERGY STAR; Best Buy haul-away |
| Fridge / freezer (no purchase) |
Utility program · municipal pickup · scrap recycler |
ENERGY STAR paths 2–4. Earth911 link only. |
14 Sep 2026 |
ENERGY STAR; Earth911 |
| Window AC / dehumidifier |
Same sealed-unit recovery path |
EPA lists window ACs with small appliances that often arrive with charge intact. RAD covers window AC and dehumidifiers. |
14 Sep 2026 |
EPA safe disposal; ENERGY STAR |
| Central AC / on-site dismantle |
Recover per servicing rules before disposal |
Section 608 technician for service/disposal recovery. Not a curb sealed-unit path. |
14 Sep 2026 |
EPA safe disposal; EPA service practice |
| Venting / cutting lines |
Prohibited (intentional release) |
Section 608 venting prohibition. Limited exemptions for certain substitutes — not a DIY disposal method. |
14 Sep 2026 |
EPA venting prohibition |
| MoCo, MD home Freon unit |
Shady Grove scrap-metal pad (geo page) |
Not HHW. County evacuates on site. |
14 Sep 2026 |
MoCo How Do I 74 |
National single posted scrap-yard Freon evacuation fee: not stated — confirm locally. Home Depot national flat haul-away fee: not stated (additional charges may apply; varies by area). Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
Where to go (program info — not a store list)
EPA Section 608 — safe disposal + no venting
Hours
Federal rule — not a drop-off site
Safe disposal last updated on EPA site 23 Mar 2026. Venting page last updated 8 Dec 2025. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
Section 608 hub · Service practice · Local-gov fact sheet (PDF)
EPA Section 608 national rules
| Address |
No public EPA Freon drop-off network. Rules apply to final disposers, technicians, and anyone recovering refrigerant. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
Anyone maintaining, servicing, repairing, or disposing of AC/refrigeration equipment; final disposers (scrap / landfill); local governments collecting appliances. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
Not a take-back site. Requirements cover ODS and non-exempt substitute refrigerants (e.g. many HFCs). Small appliances (household refrigerators/freezers, window ACs) vs equipment dismantled on-site have different recovery responsibility patterns. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
Federal penalty / civil enforcement: not stated as a consumer drop-off fee on these pages. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
not stated as a consumer count cap. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
Use EPA Section 608 contact form on epa.gov/section608 — single national consumer Freon hotline: not stated on pages fetched. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
14 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
safe disposal
venting
608 hub Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
- Address
- Rule pages only — no EPA Freon dump site. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Who
- Disposers, technicians, collectors under Section 608. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- What they take
- Regulatory requirements, not a drop-off list. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- not stated as a consumer fee. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Cap
- not stated. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Phone
- not stated as a single national consumer line. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 14 Sep 2026
ENERGY STAR — find a fridge/freezer recycling program
Hours
Program hours vary by retailer / utility / municipality
Locator guidance only — no scraped partner list. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
EPA Section 608 (RAD described on ENERGY STAR page)
ENERGY STAR national fridge recycling paths
| Address |
No single national warehouse. Use retailer, utility, municipal, or scrap options listed on the ENERGY STAR page. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
Households with old refrigerators/freezers; window AC and dehumidifiers named in RAD partner practices. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
Refrigerators and freezers (primary). RAD best practices also cover window air conditioners and dehumidifiers. Federal law: refrigerants, oils, and other compounds must be recovered before recycling metals. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
Utility programs may pay cash or bill credits — amounts: not stated nationally. Retailer haul fees set by retailer. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
not stated nationally. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
not stated as a single ENERGY STAR disposal hotline on the page fetched. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
14 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
ENERGY STAR find a program
Earth911 Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
- Address
- Use ENERGY STAR / Earth911 — no scrape. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Who
- Households with refrigerant appliances. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- What they take
- Fridge/freezer focus; RAD also window AC / dehumidifier. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- Varies — not stated as one national price. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Cap
- not stated nationally. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Phone
- not stated on page fetched. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 14 Sep 2026
Best Buy — TV & appliances haul-away
Hours
Delivery / scheduled haul window — confirm when booking
Not an in-store large-appliance drop-off. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
Electronics & appliances recycling
Best Buy haul-away national program
| Address |
Scheduled home pickup. Large appliances not accepted in stores (FAQ). No store list on this page. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
Customers scheduling haul-away with replacement delivery, or Standalone Haul-Away without a purchase. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
With replacement delivery: one major appliance from their list (includes refrigerators, freezers, washers, dryers, ranges, dishwashers, microwaves, wall ovens, cooktops, ice makers, range hoods). Standalone: up to 2 large products (TVs, major appliances, all-in-one computers and monitors) plus select smaller products. Recyclers recover ozone-depleting chemicals, refrigerants, insulating foam, PCBs, mercury, used oil. CPSC-recalled products: not accepted through voluntary recycling. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
$49.99 to haul away and recycle one major appliance when delivering a new replacement. Standalone Haul-Away: $199.99. Market-specific price differences: not stated as a second national schedule on the haul-away page summary used — confirm at checkout. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
One major appliance with replacement delivery; up to 2 large products on Standalone. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
Schedule via BestBuy.com — single national haul-away phone on page: not stated in the haul-away summary used. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
14 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
haul-away
FAQ Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
- Address
- Home scheduled pickup — not in-store for large appliances. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Who
- Replacement-delivery customers or Standalone Haul-Away. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- What they take
- Major appliances incl. refrigerators/freezers; recyclers recover refrigerants. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- $49.99 with replacement; $199.99 standalone. Confirm at booking. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Cap
- 1 with replacement; up to 2 large on standalone. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Phone
- not stated as a single national haul line on summary used. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 14 Sep 2026
Home Depot — appliance haul-away with delivery
Hours
Delivery window — confirm when scheduling
Availability varies by area. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
Delivery checklists: empty & disconnect old appliance; additional haul-away charges may apply
Home Depot haul-away national notes
| Address |
Scheduled delivery / haul from your home. Not a scraped store list. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
Customers purchasing select appliances with delivery who add haul-away where offered. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
Eco Actions: major appliances include refrigerators, dishwashers, washers, dryers, ranges, ovens, microwaves, water heaters, air conditioners, dehumidifiers — haul-away often available with delivery for select appliances. Delivery checklists: empty appliances before removal; disconnect for haul-away; commercial or built-in appliances cannot be installed/removed/hauled away (checklist language). Return Logistics Centers sort hauled-away appliances for recycle / vendor / liquidation paths. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
Additional haul-away charges may apply — national flat fee: not stated. Confirm at purchase / checkout. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
not stated as a national unit cap on Eco Actions. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
Delivery reschedule line on some checklists: 1-877-946-9843. Confirm current number on your order materials. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
14 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
Eco Actions
delivery checklist PDF Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
- Address
- Home delivery / haul — ask at purchase. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Who
- Customers with eligible delivery + haul-away. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- What they take
- Select major appliances with delivery; empty & disconnect. Built-in/commercial: checklists say cannot haul. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- May apply — national flat fee not stated. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Cap
- not stated nationally. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Phone
- 1-877-946-9843 on some delivery checklists. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 14 Sep 2026
Municipal scrap / scrap recycler / Earth911 (link only)
Hours
Varies by facility
Ask whether they recover refrigerant before you drive. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
ENERGY STAR: talk to your local scrap metal recycler and ask for assurance of proper recycling
Municipal and scrap recycler pointer
| Address |
Use Earth911 or your city/county solid-waste page. No scraped yard list. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
Residents / businesses per local rules. EPA: local governments collecting refrigerant appliances must recover with certified equipment or deliver to a final processor/aggregator for recovery. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
Varies. Final disposer must ensure recovery before shredding/burial/dismantling (EPA safe disposal). Signed statement or contract options exist when charge was already recovered. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
not stated nationally — yards and cities set their own. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
not stated nationally. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
Local only. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
14 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
Earth911
EPA safe disposal Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
- Address
- Earth911 / county page — no scrape. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Who
- Per local program. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- What they take
- Ask about refrigerant recovery before drop-off. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- not stated nationally. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Cap
- not stated nationally. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Phone
- Local. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 14 Sep 2026
- Source
-
Earth911 Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
Montgomery County, MD (local — geo page)
Hours
See geo freon-appliances page / facility hours
This national explainer does not restate inventable MoCo scrap-pad clocks or Sunday entrance conflicts. HHW is not the Freon path. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
How Do I — refrigerants · geo draft · bulk trash · HHW · electronics
Pointer to Montgomery County Freon geo page
| Address |
Scrap Metal Drop-off, Recycling Area, Shady Grove — details on the geo page. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
How Do I: refrigerants from your home; hand to drop-off attendant. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
Home refrigerant appliances at scrap-metal pad; county evacuates refrigerant on site and reuses or recycles per environmental standards. Not HHW. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
See geo / scrap-metal How Do I (no charge language for scrap metal delivery). Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
Drop-off numeric cap: not stated on refrigerants How Do I. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
311 or 240-777-0311. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
14 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
geo page
How Do I 74 Last-checked 14 Sep 2026. |
- Who
- Home refrigerants per How Do I. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- What they take
- Scrap-metal pad; county evacuates Freon on site. Not HHW. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- See geo / scrap-metal How Do I. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Cap
- Numeric drop-off cap: not stated on refrigerants How Do I. Last-checked 14 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 14 Sep 2026
Optional haul when drop-off is too far: placeholder only — #AFFILIATE_GOT_JUNK. Not a substitute for refrigerant recovery rules. See disclosure.
Bring this / prep
- Know the kind: sealed household fridge/freezer/window AC vs central AC dismantled on site (different EPA recovery responsibility).
- Empty food and personal items before retailer haul-away (Best Buy / Home Depot checklists).
- Disconnect / unplug as your retailer requires; gas appliances may need professional disconnect (Best Buy note on some markets).
- Ask whether refrigerant will be recovered (ENERGY STAR / RAD assurance language).
- Do not cut refrigerant lines or vent as a DIY shortcut (EPA Section 608).
- MoCo: proof of residency and attendant hand-off live on the geo freon page; curbside fridge doors secured shut or removed.
Not here / caution
- A scraped list of scrap yards, Best Buy stores, Home Depot stores, or utility partners (use locators / ask at purchase).
- Invented national scrap Freon fees, star ratings, or “we tested” claims.
- Assuming HHW takes refrigerators (MoCo and many counties do not — Freon is often scrap metal).
- Assuming every scrap yard recovers refrigerant — ask; final disposer is responsible under EPA.
- Venting Freon or “releasing the charge” before curb set-out.
- Treating this national explainer as the MoCo geo page (different URL:
/freon-appliances vs /appliances/freon).
- Meds / sharps pages (YMYL — not this site).
Official sources