Hours, fees, and gates change. Confirm on the official page the morning you go. This page is unofficial and not the county. Not a hauler. Holiday names and holiday clock hours: not stated. Sunday gate for HHW: HHW pages say Frederick Road; facility/hours pages close 16101 on Sunday — unreconciled. This page does not pick a winner. Retail store lists are locator tools only — do not treat this page as a scraped store directory.
Which kind is it?
-
1
Home batteries — alkaline / dry-cell, lithium, lithium-ion, lithium-polymer, Ni-Cd, NiMH (tool packs), button cells, UPS, cordless-tool packs?
HHW compound · Recycling Area
Household Hazardous Waste drop-off at Shady Grove. How Do I: accepts all batteries, including alkaline. Residents: no charge. No quantity limit. Enter from Route 355 / Frederick Road; Recycling Area; blue chain-link HHW compound. Proof of residency. Tape or bag terminals before you go. Facility clock: Mon–Sat 7 a.m.–5 p.m.; Sun 9 a.m.–5 p.m. commercial entrance only. Separate HHW-only clock: not stated beyond “Transfer Station hours of operation.”
-
2
Lead-acid / car / vehicle battery from home?
HHW · residents · no charge
Same HHW compound. How Do I: lead acid or vehicle batteries from residents at no charge. Business path is ECOWISE (choice 5), not free resident HHW. Fees page also lists rechargeable / lead-acid / other non-alkaline as residents-only at the Recyclable Materials Drop-Off Area.
-
3
Single-family / townhome with county-provided recycling — want curb pickup?
On-call curbside · schedule 311
Schedule household alkaline and rechargeable batteries with electronic items and scrap metal recycling via MC311 (311 or 240-777-0311) or online (form URL: not stated). Tape ends with clear non-metallic tape; small lidded plastic container (311 also: Ziploc-type bags). Not in blue bin or trash. Set out by 7 a.m. Collection 7 a.m.–9 p.m. on recycling day. Request by 7 p.m. the day before (311). 311 note: batteries and small electronics only collected as part of a larger electronics/scrap pickup — confirm when you schedule. Multi-family / municipal contract: not stated on batteries How Do I as this curbside path.
-
4
Prefer a store drop-off near you?
Call2Recycle / Battery Network locator
County How Do I points to the Call2Recycle drop-off locator (Call2Recycle is now The Battery Network — same locator mission). Enter your ZIP; call the retailer before you go. What each store accepts (alkaline vs rechargeable vs e-bike / high-energy): check the locator listing — not scraped here. Earth911 is another public locator if useful. Link out only; do not clone databases on this page.
-
5
Business / organization / Small Quantity Generator?
ECOWISE · fee · Mon–Fri 8–12
ECOWISE at the same HHW compound. Mon–Fri 8 a.m.–12 p.m. No appointment. Register first. Pay per pound (credit card or business check to Clean Harbors; no cash). Credit-card surcharge not to exceed 3%. Posted examples: alkaline/button $0.63/lb; gel cell $0.63/lb; lithium $6.97/lb; Ni-Cd $2.37/lb. Lead-acid listed as accepted; price line if not on the per-pound table: call 240-777-6587. Or use the retail locator. Over 220 lb hazardous waste / month or over 2.2 lb acute: not ECOWISE — call 311; destination: not stated.
-
6
Thinking trash, blue bin, or the electronics pile for loose batteries?
Wrong path · fire risk
How Do I: do not dispose of batteries in regular trash or recycling. Reduce Risk of Trash Fires page names alkaline and rechargeable (lithium, Ni-Cd, lead-acid) batteries as trash fire hazards. Electronics How Do I / campus pad is for electronics with circuit boards — rechargeable / tool / UPS batteries belong at HHW (or curbside with the taped-container rules), not the electronics pile as loose cells.
-
7
Damaged, swollen, leaking, or recalled lithium pack?
County special path: not stated
Batteries How Do I does not publish a separate damaged/defective/recalled (DDR) procedure. Do not invent one. Call 311 (or 240-777-0311) before you haul a damaged pack. The Battery Network publishes its own DDR / safety guidance for participating retail sites — that is the locator program’s rule, not a county How Do I line. Confirm before you go.
-
8
Thinking Poolesville Beauty Spot for batteries?
Wrong path · bulk trash only
Beauty Spot (19200 Jerusalem Road, Saturdays 8 a.m.–4 p.m.) is bulk trash up to 499 lb for residents. It does not accept household hazardous waste. Batteries belong at Shady Grove HHW (or curbside / retail locator), not Poolesville.
Where to go
Household Hazardous Waste compound · Recycling Area, Shady Grove
Hours
How Do I: open during the Transfer Station’s hours of operation
Facility: 7 a.m.–5 p.m. Mon–Sat (both gates)
Facility: 9 a.m.–5 p.m. Sunday (Commercial and Truck entrance only)
HHW / batteries How Do I: Frederick Road / Route 355 entrance for Recycling Area. Facility/hours pages: Sunday use Commercial and Truck entrance only (16055 Shady Grove Road). Unreconciled. This page does not pick a winner. Holiday names and holiday clock hours: not stated. If the Transfer Station is closed for weather, holidays, or emergencies, HHW is also closed (ECOWISE page). Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
or 311 · Sunday facility gate: 16055 Shady Grove Road (confirm the morning you go)
Household Hazardous Waste compound · batteries · Shady Grove
| Address |
Household Hazardous Waste drop-off (blue chain-link compound, large roof), Recycling Area, Shady Grove Processing Facility and Transfer Station. Enter from Route 355 / Frederick Road; stay right for “Recycling.” Posted address: 16101 Frederick Road, Derwood, MD 20855. Sunday facility entrance per hours page: 16055 Shady Grove Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877 (unreconciled with HHW Frederick Road directions). Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
Montgomery County residents with home-generated batteries. Proof of residency required (HHW How Do I). Fees page: rechargeable / lead-acid / other non-alkaline at Recyclable Materials Drop-Off Area accepted only from residents. Business / SQG: ECOWISE (card below), not free resident HHW. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
How Do I batteries: all batteries, including alkaline. Types listed: dry-cell; lithium; lithium-ion; lithium-polymer; nickel-cadmium; lead-acid; UPS (personal & network); tool batteries (Ni-Cd, NiMH, Li-ion). HHW How Do I accept list also names dry-cell/alkaline, lithium, lithium-ion, Ni-Cd, lead-acid (vehicle), UPS, tool batteries. Button cells: covered under “all batteries” / ECOWISE alkaline-button line — separate button-only refuse: not stated. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
Residents: no charge for home batteries (batteries How Do I). Lead-acid / vehicle from residents: no charge. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
Batteries How Do I: “We do not limit the number of batteries you may drop off.” Per-visit vs lifetime: not stated beyond that line. If your total HHW load is over 15 gallons liquid or 75 pounds solid, call 311 to arrange drop-off (HHW How Do I) — whether that threshold is per visit or per month: not stated. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
311 or 240-777-0311. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
4 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
batteries How Do I
HHW How Do I
fees
hours
residency Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
- Address
- Household Hazardous Waste drop-off (blue chain-link compound, large roof), Recycling Area, Shady Grove Processing Facility and Transfer Station. Enter from Route 355 / Frederick Road; stay right for “Recycling.” Posted address: 16101 Frederick Road, Derwood, MD 20855. Sunday facility entrance per hours page: 16055 Shady Grove Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877 (unreconciled with HHW Frederick Road directions). Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- Who
- Montgomery County residents with home-generated batteries. Proof of residency required (HHW How Do I). Fees page: rechargeable / lead-acid / other non-alkaline at Recyclable Materials Drop-Off Area accepted only from residents. Business / SQG: ECOWISE (card below), not free resident HHW. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- What they take
- How Do I batteries: all batteries, including alkaline. Types listed: dry-cell; lithium; lithium-ion; lithium-polymer; nickel-cadmium; lead-acid; UPS (personal & network); tool batteries (Ni-Cd, NiMH, Li-ion). HHW How Do I accept list also names dry-cell/alkaline, lithium, lithium-ion, Ni-Cd, lead-acid (vehicle), UPS, tool batteries. Button cells: covered under “all batteries” / ECOWISE alkaline-button line — separate button-only refuse: not stated. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- Residents: no charge for home batteries (batteries How Do I). Lead-acid / vehicle from residents: no charge. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- Cap
- Batteries How Do I: “We do not limit the number of batteries you may drop off.” Per-visit vs lifetime: not stated beyond that line. If your total HHW load is over 15 gallons liquid or 75 pounds solid, call 311 to arrange drop-off (HHW How Do I) — whether that threshold is per visit or per month: not stated. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 4 Sep 2026
On-call curbside · county-provided recycling homes
Hours
Must be scheduled · your recycling day
Set out by 7 a.m. · collection 7 a.m.–9 p.m.
Batteries How Do I + recycling service details + 311 electronics/batteries solution. Request by 7 p.m. the day before regularly scheduled recycling pickup (311). Cancel by 7 p.m. the business day before. How Do I also says “or online”; form URL: not stated. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
Schedule with MC311. Online form URL: not stated on the batteries How Do I.
On-call curbside batteries · county recycling
| Address |
Your curb (within 10 ft / unobstructed per recycling service details) — not the blue bin, not the trash can. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
Single-family households that receive county-provided recycling collection (batteries How Do I). Multi-family / city-contract customers: not stated as this path on the batteries How Do I. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
Household alkaline and rechargeable batteries, scheduled along with electronic items and scrap metal recycling. 311: batteries and small electronic items only collected as part of a larger pickup of these items — confirm when you call. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
On-call recycling collection fee line: not stated as a charge on batteries How Do I / recycling service details (described as expanded recycling service). Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
Battery count for curbside: not stated. 311 asks for an itemized list when scheduling electronics. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
311 or 240-777-0311. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
4 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
batteries How Do I
recycling service details
311 electronics & batteries Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
- Address
- Your curb (within 10 ft / unobstructed per recycling service details) — not the blue bin, not the trash can. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- Who
- Single-family households that receive county-provided recycling collection (batteries How Do I). Multi-family / city-contract customers: not stated as this path on the batteries How Do I. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- What they take
- Household alkaline and rechargeable batteries, scheduled along with electronic items and scrap metal recycling. 311: batteries and small electronic items only collected as part of a larger pickup of these items — confirm when you call. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- On-call recycling collection fee line: not stated as a charge on batteries How Do I / recycling service details (described as expanded recycling service). Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- Cap
- Battery count for curbside: not stated. 311 asks for an itemized list when scheduling electronics. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 4 Sep 2026
Retail take-back · Call2Recycle / Battery Network locator
Hours
Vary by retailer — not county hours
County How Do I: use the Call2Recycle drop-off locator, or call the nearest retailer. Call2Recycle is now The Battery Network (same org messaging). This card is a link out only — no scraped store list, no invented hours. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
Also: Earth911 locator (link out only). Call the store before you go.
Retail take-back · Call2Recycle / Battery Network
| Address |
Participating retailers near your ZIP — use the locator. Street addresses are not listed on this unofficial page (do not scrape). Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
Public retail drop-off per each site’s rules. County points residents and SQG businesses to the same locator as an alternate. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
Battery Network: most sites accept common household and rechargeable batteries; some accept specialty (e-bike / high-energy >300 Wh) — check each location. US retail programs often focus on rechargeables; whether a given MoCo store takes alkaline: not stated here — ask the locator listing / store. Damaged/defective/recalled lithium: Battery Network says do not bring DDR packs to regular collection sites — see their safety guidance; county DDR path: not stated. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
Retail program fee at participating sites: not stated on county How Do I (typically no charge at Call2Recycle-style bins — confirm with the store). Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
Per-store caps / weight limits: not stated on county How Do I — check locator / call retailer. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
County: 311 or 240-777-0311. Battery Network customer service (org site): 1-877-723-1297 — not a county line. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
4 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
batteries How Do I
Battery Network locator
Call2Recycle locations
Earth911 Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
- Address
- Participating retailers near your ZIP — use the locator. Street addresses are not listed on this unofficial page (do not scrape). Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- Who
- Public retail drop-off per each site’s rules. County points residents and SQG businesses to the same locator as an alternate. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- What they take
- Battery Network: most sites accept common household and rechargeable batteries; some accept specialty (e-bike / high-energy >300 Wh) — check each location. US retail programs often focus on rechargeables; whether a given MoCo store takes alkaline: not stated here — ask the locator listing / store. Damaged/defective/recalled lithium: Battery Network says do not bring DDR packs to regular collection sites — see their safety guidance; county DDR path: not stated. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- Retail program fee at participating sites: not stated on county How Do I (typically no charge at Call2Recycle-style bins — confirm with the store). Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- Cap
- Per-store caps / weight limits: not stated on county How Do I — check locator / call retailer. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- Phone
- County: 311 or 240-777-0311. Battery Network customer service (org site): 1-877-723-1297 — not a county line. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 4 Sep 2026
ECOWISE · fee-based business / SQG batteries (same HHW compound)
Hours
Monday–Friday 8 a.m.–12 p.m.
No appointment
Same HHW compound. Enter via Frederick Road (MD-355). If the Transfer Station is closed due to weather, holidays, or emergencies, HHW/ECOWISE is also closed. Batteries How Do I matches Mon–Fri 8 a.m.–12 p.m. for business lead-acid. Older press/NiCd pages that said Wednesday 1–5 p.m.: superseded by current ECOWISE + batteries How Do I — cite current pages. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
Register first · pricing line 240-777-6587 · county 311: 311 / 240-777-0311
ECOWISE · business battery drop-off
| Address |
Same HHW compound, Shady Grove Processing Facility and Transfer Station, 16101 Frederick Road, Derwood, MD 20855. Enter via Frederick Road (MD-355). Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
Montgomery County businesses / Small Quantity Generators under 220 lb hazardous waste per calendar month and under 2.2 lb acute hazardous waste per month. Register before you go. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
ECOWISE accept list includes alkaline button batteries, gel cell, lead-acid, lithium, Ni-Cd (among other hazmat). Batteries How Do I routes business/org batteries here (fee) or to the retail locator. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
Per pound (includes container weight). Posted: Batteries, Alkaline/Button $0.63; Gel Cell $0.63; Lithium $6.97; Ni-Cd $2.37. Lead-acid accepted; if no separate price line on the table, call 240-777-6587. Credit card or business check to Clean Harbors; no cash. Credit-card surcharge not to exceed 3%. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
Businesses cannot bring more than 220 pounds of hazardous waste to ECOWISE. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
Pricing / unlisted chemicals: 240-777-6587. County: 311 or 240-777-0311. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
4 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
ECOWISE
batteries How Do I Last-checked 4 Sep 2026. |
- Who
- Montgomery County businesses / Small Quantity Generators under 220 lb hazardous waste per calendar month and under 2.2 lb acute hazardous waste per month. Register before you go. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- What they take
- ECOWISE accept list includes alkaline button batteries, gel cell, lead-acid, lithium, Ni-Cd (among other hazmat). Batteries How Do I routes business/org batteries here (fee) or to the retail locator. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- Per pound (includes container weight). Posted: Batteries, Alkaline/Button $0.63; Gel Cell $0.63; Lithium $6.97; Ni-Cd $2.37. Lead-acid accepted; if no separate price line on the table, call 240-777-6587. Credit card or business check to Clean Harbors; no cash. Credit-card surcharge not to exceed 3%. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- Cap
- Businesses cannot bring more than 220 pounds of hazardous waste to ECOWISE. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 4 Sep 2026
Transport: bag each battery or tape terminals with masking / non-metallic tape. Do not mix small batteries with coins and house keys in a pocket. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
Unreconciled Sunday: HHW / batteries pages put drop-off in the Recycling Area via Frederick Road; facility/hours pages say Sunday use the Commercial and Truck entrance only (16055 Shady Grove Road, 9 a.m.–5 p.m.). This page does not pick a winner. Confirm the morning you go. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
Poolesville Beauty Spot (19200 Jerusalem Road, Saturdays 8 a.m.–4 p.m.) is bulk trash up to 499 lb for residents. It is not a battery drop-off. Last-checked 4 Sep 2026.
Bring this
- Proof of residency (residential HHW): Maryland license or photo ID with a Montgomery County address; a current utility bill with a physical MoCo address and your name; or a mortgage statement / lease in your name for a physical MoCo address. Out-of-county plates still need one of those. Proof of County Residency.
- Tape (clear / masking / other non-metallic) for terminals — or individual plastic bags per battery.
- Small lidded plastic container (or Ziploc-type bags for curbside) for loose cells. Do not toss loose batteries in a pocket with coins or keys.
- For curbside: schedule with 311 first; itemized list; set out by 7 a.m. on recycling day.
- Covered load if you self-haul (hours page). PPE (high-vis vest, hard hat, closed-toe shoes) is required on the main tipping floor, not described as required for Recycling Area HHW hand-offs.
Not here
- Batteries in regular trash (fire risk — How Do I + Reduce Risk of Trash Fires).
- Batteries in the blue recycling bin.
- Loose rechargeable / tool / UPS packs on the electronics pad as if they were TVs (wrong pad — use HHW / taped curbside rules).
- Poolesville Beauty Spot as a battery destination.
- Scraped Call2Recycle / Battery Network / Earth911 store lists on this page.
- Business free drop-off of rechargeable / lead-acid / other non-alkaline at the Recyclable Materials Drop-Off Area (fees page: residents only).
- Invented damaged/defective lithium county procedure (call 311; Battery Network has its own DDR rules for retail sites).
- Medical sharps / meds pages (YMYL — not this site).
Official sources