Where to take leftover paint in Washington, DC (unofficial)
PaintCare DC year-round (locator only). DPW events need Eventbrite 30-minute arrival windows. Fort Totten is the wrong building for HHW and paint. Last checked 15 Sep 2026
Event dates, lots, and PaintCare sites change. Confirm on the official page the morning you go. This page is unofficial and not DPW, DOEE, or the District. Not a hauler.
Which path?
1
Leftover house paint, primer, stain, or varnish (any day)?
PaintCare DC · locator
Zero Waste: “the most convenient option.” Separate DC program (since Nov 2016) — not Maryland PaintCare. Free drop-off for PaintCare products. Use the locator; this page does not list stores. Hotline 855-724-6809. Limited-time door-to-door for households in wards 2, 4, 7, 8 with ~10+ gallons: paintcare.org/dc-d2d.
2
Also have other HHW, or prefer a DPW event for paint?
Special Waste · Eventbrite
Pre-register. One 30-minute arrival window per vehicle (not service time). Bring proof of DC residency + ticket. Latex and oil-based paints are on the accepted list (latex note points to PaintCare). No entry after 2:00 p.m. Capacity or weather can close the gate — check @DCDPW / @dczerowaste.
3
Thinking Fort Totten Transfer Station for paint or HHW?
Wrong building
Fort Totten unacceptable list includes Household Hazardous Waste and e-cycling (computers/TVs/electronics taken at HHW events). Up to four tires and some appliances are different streams — not paint. Do not treat Fort Totten as the paint drop.
4
Commercial waste or no Eventbrite ticket?
Not the DPW resident event
Events: DC residents only; no commercial waste. Registration required. Walk-up without registration: not stated as allowed on the pages fetched.
Where to go
PaintCare District of Columbia (locator — no store list)
Hours
Site hours vary — call ahead
PaintCare reported 7 year-round drop-off sites on the DC program page as of this fetch — treat that as a count, not a store list. Do not scrape the locator. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Use the locator. This page does not list store addresses. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Who
Households, businesses, government agencies, and others with leftover paint (PaintCare DC program). Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
What they take
House paint, primers, stains, sealers, clear coatings (shellac, varnish) that carry the PaintCare fee. Aerosols / leaking / unlabeled / empty: confirm with PaintCare — typically not accepted. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Fee
Free drop-off. Point-of-sale fee on new paint in DC: half-pint or smaller $0; larger than half-pint to smaller than 1 gal $0.30; 1–2 gal $0.70; larger than 2 gal up to 5 gal $1.60. Not a tax or deposit. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Cap
Typical retail site caps: not restated as a single number on the DC program page fetched; call the site. 100+ gallons: Large Volume Pickup. Households wards 2, 4, 7, 8 with ~10+ gallons: limited-time door-to-door. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
2500 Independence Ave SE. Eventbrite registration required. One 30-minute arrival window per vehicle. No entry after 2:00 p.m. Dates and lots move — confirm on DPW + Eventbrite the morning you go. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Upcoming events listed at RFK Parking Lot 8, 2500 Independence Ave SE. Confirm lot on Eventbrite for your ticket. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Who
DC residents only. Proof: driver’s license, utility bill, or lease plus Eventbrite registration. One ticket per vehicle; free. No commercial waste. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
What they take
Accepted list includes paints (latex — with PaintCare note — and oil-based), stains, lacquers, varnishes, thinners, plus batteries, motor oil, propane ≤20 lb, fluorescent lamps, and other HHW; electronics; document shredding (up to 5 medium boxes). Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Fee
No cost to register; event drop-off described as free for residents. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Cap
One ticket / one 30-minute arrival window per vehicle. Paint gallon cap at events: not stated on the Special Waste page fetched. Shredding: up to 5 medium boxes (~20×14×14 in). Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
RFK Parking Lot 8 for listed Sep 2026 events — confirm on your ticket. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Who
DC residents; proof + Eventbrite; no commercial. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Last-checked
15 Sep 2026
Fort Totten Transfer Station — not for paint / HHW
Hours
Resident transfer-station clock: not restated on this paint page
Included only as a wrong-building warning. Direct HTML fetch of the Fort Totten service page timed out this check; unacceptable-materials facts from search-indexed copies of the official Fort Totten URL and DPW Special Waste cross-links. Confirm on the official Fort Totten page before any non-paint trip. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
4900 John McCormack Rd NE (address from county clone brief / common DPW listing — confirm on official page)
Fort Totten — wrong building for paint
Address
Fort Totten Transfer Station, 4900 John McCormack Rd NE (confirm on official page). Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Who
Not the resident paint / HHW path. Hauler / transfer rules are separate. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
What they take
Not HHW. Not paint. Unacceptable materials include Household Hazardous Waste and e-cycling (computers, TVs, or other electronics taken at HHW events). DPW Special Waste page: up to four tires may go to Fort Totten during regular business hours — still not paint. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Fee
not stated on this paint page (wrong building). Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Cap
n/a for paint (not accepted). Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Do not bring leftover paint or HHW to Fort Totten. Use PaintCare or a registered DPW Special Waste event. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Last-checked
15 Sep 2026
Bring this
PaintCare path: sealed PaintCare-product containers; call the site about caps.
DPW event path: Eventbrite ticket for your 30-minute arrival window; proof of DC residency (DL, utility bill, or lease); arrive within the window; no entry after 2:00 p.m.
One ticket per vehicle; free registration.
Not here
Paint or HHW at Fort Totten Transfer Station.
Walk-up to a Special Waste event without Eventbrite (not stated as allowed).
Commercial waste at DPW Special Waste events.
A scraped PaintCare store-address list on this page.
Assuming Maryland PaintCare fees/sites apply — DC is a separate program.
Stale Fort Totten copy that still mentions old RFK Lot 3 HHW through Mar 2024 — events now use listed lots (e.g. Lot 8) via Eventbrite.