Hours, fees, and gates change. Confirm on the official page the morning you go. This page is unofficial and not the county. Not a hauler. Holiday names and holiday clock hours: not stated. Sunday gate for HHW: HHW pages say Frederick Road; facility/hours pages close 16101 on Sunday — unreconciled. This page does not pick a winner. County retail list is compiled, not complete, not an endorsement — not a scraped store directory on this page. Broken-bulb notes link EPA cleanup only; not medical advice.
Which kind is it?
-
1
CFL, fluorescent tube, or ballast from home?
HHW compound · Recycling Area
Household Hazardous Waste drop-off at Shady Grove. How Do I lights: accepts CFLs, tubes, and ballasts from your home at no additional charge. No quantity limit at HHW. Enter from Route 355 / Frederick Road; Recycling Area; blue chain-link HHW compound. Proof of residency (HHW How Do I). Facility clock: Mon–Sat 7 a.m.–5 p.m.; Sun 9 a.m.–5 p.m. commercial entrance only. Separate HHW-only clock: not stated beyond “Transfer Station hours of operation.”
-
2
LCD or LED bulb from home?
HHW · residents · no charge
Same HHW compound. How Do I: LCD or LED bulbs from home → Household Hazardous Waste drop-off at Shady Grove at no charge. Business path is ECOWISE (choice 6), not free resident HHW.
-
3
Incandescent or halogen bulb?
Regular trash · not HHW
How Do I: dispose of incandescent and halogen light bulbs in your regular trash collection. Do not haul these to HHW as if they were CFLs.
-
4
Broken CFL or fluorescent tube?
EPA cleanup · then double-bag trash
How Do I: CFLs and tubes contain a small amount of mercury; follow US EPA cleanup instructions for broken fluorescent bulbs. Then double-bag the broken CFL or tube in a re-sealable plastic bag and place in household trash. Do not put CFLs or tubes into the recycling bin. Intact unbroken CFLs/tubes still belong at HHW (or a retail drop-off that accepts them) — the trash path above is the county’s broken-bulb disposal line after EPA cleanup. Not medical advice; not a poison-control page.
-
5
Prefer a store drop-off for a few CFLs / tubes?
County-compiled retail list · small quantities
How Do I publishes a retail table and says Montgomery County compiled it through various sources: not a complete directory, not an endorsement. Hours of acceptance: vary by location. Cost: no charge (as posted). Community retail: small quantities only. Example cap on the live table: Home Depot #2551 (2300 Broadbirch Dr, Silver Spring) — yes max of 3 bulbs / yes max of 3 tubes. Other rows list bulb-only vs bulb+tube — check the live How Do I before you go; call the store. This unofficial page does not clone that table.
-
6
Business / organization / Small Quantity Generator?
ECOWISE · fee · Mon–Fri 8–12
ECOWISE at the same HHW compound. Mon–Fri 8 a.m.–12 p.m. No appointment. Register first. How Do I business line: $1.17 per bulb or 4-foot tube; $2.34 per 8-foot tube; no quantity limit on that line. ECOWISE price table: Fluorescent Tubes 4-ft $1.17 per bulb; 8-ft $2.34 per bulb; Compact Fluorescent Lamp (CFL) bulbs $4.25 per pound (includes container weight). PCB ballasts $2.35/lb on ECOWISE. Pay credit card or business check to Clean Harbors; no cash. Credit-card surcharge not to exceed 3%. Over 220 lb hazardous waste / month or over 2.2 lb acute: not ECOWISE — call 311; destination: not stated.
-
7
Live in a municipality (city / town), not unincorporated county?
Ask your municipal office · plus HHW still open
How Do I: contact your local municipal office for additional information regarding CFLs recycling opportunities in your community. County HHW at Shady Grove remains the posted free resident path for home CFLs / tubes / ballasts / LCD·LED. Municipal add-ons: confirm with that office — not inventoried here.
-
8
Thinking blue bin, electronics pad, or Poolesville Beauty Spot for bulbs?
Wrong path
How Do I: do not put CFLs or tubes into your recycling bin. Intact mercury lamps belong at HHW (or accepting retail), not the blue bin. Electronics How Do I is for electronics with circuit boards — not a substitute for the lights How Do I. Poolesville Beauty Spot (19200 Jerusalem Road, Saturdays 8 a.m.–4 p.m.) is bulk trash up to 499 lb for residents; it does not accept household hazardous waste.
Where to go
Household Hazardous Waste compound · Recycling Area, Shady Grove
Hours
How Do I HHW: open during the Transfer Station’s hours of operation
Facility: 7 a.m.–5 p.m. Mon–Sat (both gates)
Facility: 9 a.m.–5 p.m. Sunday (Commercial and Truck entrance only)
Lights How Do I lists HHW at 16101 Frederick Rd and phone 240-777-6587. HHW How Do I: Frederick Road / Route 355 entrance for Recycling Area. Facility/hours pages: Sunday use Commercial and Truck entrance only (16055 Shady Grove Road). Unreconciled. This page does not pick a winner. Holiday names and holiday clock hours: not stated. If the Transfer Station is closed for weather, holidays, or emergencies, HHW is also closed (ECOWISE page). Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
or 311 · HHW compound line on lights How Do I: 240-777-6587 · Sunday facility gate: 16055 Shady Grove Road (confirm the morning you go)
Household Hazardous Waste compound · bulbs · Shady Grove
| Address |
Household Hazardous Waste drop-off (blue chain-link compound, large roof), Recycling Area, Shady Grove Processing Facility and Transfer Station. Enter from Route 355 / Frederick Road; stay right for “Recycling.” Posted on lights How Do I: 16101 Frederick Road, Derwood, MD 20855. Sunday facility entrance per hours page: 16055 Shady Grove Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877 (unreconciled with HHW Frederick Road directions). Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
Montgomery County residents with home-generated CFLs, tubes, ballasts, and LCD/LED bulbs. Proof of residency required (HHW How Do I). Business / SQG: ECOWISE (card below), not free resident HHW. Live in a municipality? How Do I also says contact your local municipal office for additional CFL options. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
Lights How Do I: CFLs, fluorescent tubes, and ballasts from home; LCD or LED bulbs from home. HHW How Do I accept list also names fluorescent light tubes and bulbs (CFLs) and fluorescent light ballasts. Incandescent / halogen: regular trash — not this pad. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
Residents: no additional charge for home CFLs / tubes / ballasts; LCD/LED from home at no charge (lights How Do I). Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
Lights How Do I: Household Hazardous Waste Collection — no quantity limit. If your total HHW load is over 15 gallons liquid or 75 pounds solid, call 311 to arrange drop-off (HHW How Do I) — whether that threshold is per visit or per month: not stated. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
311 or 240-777-0311. Lights How Do I also lists 240-777-6587 on the HHW row. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
5 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
lights How Do I
HHW How Do I
hours
residency Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
- Address
- Household Hazardous Waste drop-off (blue chain-link compound, large roof), Recycling Area, Shady Grove Processing Facility and Transfer Station. Enter from Route 355 / Frederick Road; stay right for “Recycling.” Posted on lights How Do I: 16101 Frederick Road, Derwood, MD 20855. Sunday facility entrance per hours page: 16055 Shady Grove Road, Gaithersburg, MD 20877 (unreconciled with HHW Frederick Road directions). Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
- Who
- Montgomery County residents with home-generated CFLs, tubes, ballasts, and LCD/LED bulbs. Proof of residency required (HHW How Do I). Business / SQG: ECOWISE (card below), not free resident HHW. Live in a municipality? How Do I also says contact your local municipal office for additional CFL options. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
- What they take
- Lights How Do I: CFLs, fluorescent tubes, and ballasts from home; LCD or LED bulbs from home. HHW How Do I accept list also names fluorescent light tubes and bulbs (CFLs) and fluorescent light ballasts. Incandescent / halogen: regular trash — not this pad. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- Residents: no additional charge for home CFLs / tubes / ballasts; LCD/LED from home at no charge (lights How Do I). Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
- Cap
- Lights How Do I: Household Hazardous Waste Collection — no quantity limit. If your total HHW load is over 15 gallons liquid or 75 pounds solid, call 311 to arrange drop-off (HHW How Do I) — whether that threshold is per visit or per month: not stated. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 5 Sep 2026
Retail / community drop-offs · county-compiled list (link out)
Hours
Vary by location — not county hours
Lights How Do I: “Hours of acceptance: vary by location.” County disclaimer: compiled through various sources; not a complete directory; not an endorsement. This card is a link out — no full store clone on this unofficial page. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
Call the retailer before you go. Example cap posted on the county table: Home Depot #2551 — max 3 bulbs / max 3 tubes.
Retail CFL / tube drop-offs · county How Do I list
| Address |
Participating community / retail sites listed on the county lights How Do I — use that live table. This unofficial page does not reproduce the full street list (do not scrape; do not treat us as the directory). Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
Public retail / community drop-off per each site’s rules. County: small quantities only at community retail locations. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
Varies by row on the How Do I table (bulb-style vs tube-style columns). Example: Home Depot #2551 accepts both with max of 3 bulbs and max of 3 tubes. Other listed sites may accept bulbs only. Confirm on the live table and with the store. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
How Do I: Cost: no charge (as posted for these community locations). Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
Community drop-off locations at retail stores: small quantities only. Home Depot #2551 posted max: 3 bulbs / 3 tubes. Caps at other listed stores: not stated beyond the bulb/tube yes-no columns on How Do I — ask the store. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
County: 311 or 240-777-0311. Store phones: on the live How Do I table — call before you go. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
5 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
lights How Do I Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
- Address
- Participating community / retail sites listed on the county lights How Do I — use that live table. This unofficial page does not reproduce the full street list (do not scrape; do not treat us as the directory). Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
- Who
- Public retail / community drop-off per each site’s rules. County: small quantities only at community retail locations. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
- What they take
- Varies by row on the How Do I table (bulb-style vs tube-style columns). Example: Home Depot #2551 accepts both with max of 3 bulbs and max of 3 tubes. Other listed sites may accept bulbs only. Confirm on the live table and with the store. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- How Do I: Cost: no charge (as posted for these community locations). Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
- Cap
- Community drop-off locations at retail stores: small quantities only. Home Depot #2551 posted max: 3 bulbs / 3 tubes. Caps at other listed stores: not stated beyond the bulb/tube yes-no columns on How Do I — ask the store. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
- Phone
- County: 311 or 240-777-0311. Store phones: on the live How Do I table — call before you go. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 5 Sep 2026
ECOWISE · fee-based business / SQG lamps (same HHW compound)
Hours
Monday–Friday 8 a.m.–12 p.m.
No appointment
Same HHW compound. Enter via Frederick Road (MD-355). If the Transfer Station is closed due to weather, holidays, or emergencies, HHW/ECOWISE is also closed. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
Register first · pricing line 240-777-6587 · county 311: 311 / 240-777-0311
ECOWISE · business fluorescent / CFL / LED drop-off
| Address |
Same HHW compound, Shady Grove Processing Facility and Transfer Station, 16101 Frederick Road, Derwood, MD 20855. Enter via Frederick Road (MD-355). Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
Montgomery County businesses / Small Quantity Generators under 220 lb hazardous waste per calendar month and under 2.2 lb acute hazardous waste per month. Register before you go. Lights How Do I: CFLs, tubes, ballasts from business; LCD/LED from business or organization (SQG only). Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
ECOWISE accept list includes fluorescent bulbs and PCB ballasts (among other hazmat). Lights How Do I routes business CFLs / tubes / ballasts and LCD/LED here. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
Lights How Do I business line: $1.17 per bulb or 4-foot tube; $2.34 per 8-foot tube. ECOWISE table: Fluorescent Tubes — 4-feet $1.17 per bulb; 8-feet $2.34 per bulb; Compact Fluorescent Lamp (CFL) bulbs $4.25 per pound (includes container weight); PCB ballasts $2.35/lb. Credit card or business check to Clean Harbors; no cash. Credit-card surcharge not to exceed 3%. LED business fee line if not on those rows: call 240-777-6587 — not stated as a separate LED line on the posted ECOWISE table. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
Lights How Do I business line: no quantity limit. ECOWISE: businesses cannot bring more than 220 pounds of hazardous waste. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
Pricing / unlisted chemicals: 240-777-6587. County: 311 or 240-777-0311. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
5 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
ECOWISE
lights How Do I Last-checked 5 Sep 2026. |
- Who
- Montgomery County businesses / Small Quantity Generators under 220 lb hazardous waste per calendar month and under 2.2 lb acute hazardous waste per month. Register before you go. Lights How Do I: CFLs, tubes, ballasts from business; LCD/LED from business or organization (SQG only). Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
- What they take
- ECOWISE accept list includes fluorescent bulbs and PCB ballasts (among other hazmat). Lights How Do I routes business CFLs / tubes / ballasts and LCD/LED here. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- Lights How Do I business line: $1.17 per bulb or 4-foot tube; $2.34 per 8-foot tube. ECOWISE table: Fluorescent Tubes — 4-feet $1.17 per bulb; 8-feet $2.34 per bulb; Compact Fluorescent Lamp (CFL) bulbs $4.25 per pound (includes container weight); PCB ballasts $2.35/lb. Credit card or business check to Clean Harbors; no cash. Credit-card surcharge not to exceed 3%. LED business fee line if not on those rows: call 240-777-6587 — not stated as a separate LED line on the posted ECOWISE table. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
- Cap
- Lights How Do I business line: no quantity limit. ECOWISE: businesses cannot bring more than 220 pounds of hazardous waste. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 5 Sep 2026
Broken CFL / tube: follow US EPA — Cleaning Up a Broken CFL, then county How Do I: double-bag in a re-sealable plastic bag → household trash. Not the blue bin. Not medical advice. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
Unreconciled Sunday: HHW / lights pages put drop-off in the Recycling Area via Frederick Road; facility/hours pages say Sunday use the Commercial and Truck entrance only (16055 Shady Grove Road, 9 a.m.–5 p.m.). This page does not pick a winner. Confirm the morning you go. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
Poolesville Beauty Spot (19200 Jerusalem Road, Saturdays 8 a.m.–4 p.m.) is bulk trash up to 499 lb for residents. It is not a bulb / HHW drop-off. Last-checked 5 Sep 2026.
Bring this
- Proof of residency (residential HHW): Maryland license or photo ID with a Montgomery County address; a current utility bill with a physical MoCo address and your name; or a mortgage statement / lease in your name for a physical MoCo address. Out-of-county plates still need one of those. Proof of County Residency.
- Intact CFLs, tubes, ballasts, and/or LCD·LED lamps — keep unbroken lamps whole for HHW or retail drop-off.
- For a broken CFL/tube: after EPA cleanup, re-sealable plastic bags for double-bagging before household trash.
- Covered load if you self-haul (hours page). PPE (high-vis vest, hard hat, closed-toe shoes) is required on the main tipping floor, not described as required for Recycling Area HHW hand-offs.
Not here
- Intact CFLs / tubes in the blue recycling bin (How Do I: do not put CFLs or tubes into your recycling bin).
- Incandescent / halogen hauled to HHW as if they were mercury lamps (How Do I: regular trash).
- Broken CFL cleanup as medical / poison-control advice on this page (link EPA; not YMYL treatment).
- Poolesville Beauty Spot as a bulb destination.
- A scraped or complete retail store directory on this unofficial page (county list is compiled, incomplete, not an endorsement — use the live How Do I).
- Invented retail hours (county: vary by location).
- Business free HHW for lamps (ECOWISE fee path).
- Medical sharps / meds pages (YMYL — not this site).
Official sources