Hours, fees, caps, and eligibility change. Confirm on the official page the morning you go. This page is unofficial and not the county. Not a hauler. Not 1-800-GOT-JUNK. No invented prices, quotes, reviews, or star ratings.
Which path fits?
-
1
-
2
County-provided trash and bulky furniture / mattress / non-metal junk?
Free · bulk pickup (5/year)
Eligible residential properties: up to 5 free bulk collections per calendar year. Schedule ahead (online by 11:59 p.m. the day before trash day, or 311 / 240-777-0311 by 7 p.m. the business day before). Set out by 7 a.m. Details and refuse list: bulk trash. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026 on this summary; confirm on the county page.
-
3
Private / HOA trash, or bulk already used up?
Self-haul · or your collector
Private/HOA subscription trash: not eligible for county bulk. Call your collector, or self-haul. Residents: trash under 500 lb at no charge to Shady Grove Transfer Station or Poolesville Beauty Spot (Saturdays 8 a.m.–4 p.m., 19200 Jerusalem Rd — bulk ≤499 lb; not HHW). Proof of residency. See bulk trash and hours.
-
4
Latex paint you can dry at home?
DIY · dry then trash
County How Do I: harden or dry residual latex before trash (air-dry if <1/4 full; hardener / kitty litter / mulch / shredded paper if fuller). Wet latex or oil-based → HHW / PaintCare paths on leftover paint. Supplies how-to: paint hardener.
-
5
Drop-off still too far, no vehicle, or cannot unload?
Sponsored · paid haul placeholder
Only after free/DIY paths above. Hire a junk / bulky hauler for pickup. This site is not a hauler and does not quote jobs. Placeholder affiliate only (see disclosure below).
Free / county paths (use these first)
MoCo free and DIY paths before a paid haul
| Kind |
Free / DIY path |
Lookup page |
Last-checked |
| Leftover paint |
Dry latex then trash, or wet drop at HHW / PaintCare |
leftover-paint.html |
15 Sep 2026 |
| Bulk furniture / non-metal junk |
County bulk (eligible) or self-haul <500 lb |
bulk-trash.html |
15 Sep 2026 |
| Mattress / box spring |
Shady Grove mattress pad / bulk rules on geo page |
mattresses.html |
15 Sep 2026 |
| TV / electronics |
Electronics pad (Recycling Area) or on-call pickup if eligible |
electronics.html |
15 Sep 2026 |
| Fridge / AC (Freon) |
Scrap-metal / refrigerants pad — not HHW |
freon-appliances.html |
15 Sep 2026 |
| Household hazardous waste |
HHW compound at Shady Grove (caps / call-ahead rules) |
hhw.html |
15 Sep 2026 |
These rows point at existing MoCo Drop-Off lookups. Hours and caps live on those pages and on montgomerycountymd.gov — not restated as inventable clocks here. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Where to go (county first)
County drop-off & bulk — free path
Hours
Transfer Station facility clock: see transfer-station-hours
Bulk curbside: your County trash day (schedule ahead)
Do not invent a second pad clock here. Confirm the morning you go. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
or 311 · facility
County free path summary
| Address |
Shady Grove Processing Facility and Transfer Station — residential signs often list 16101 Frederick Road, Derwood, MD 20855. Sunday facility entrance rule on hours pages: Commercial and Truck (16055 Shady Grove Road). Unreconciled with some Recycling Area signs — confirm the morning you go. Beauty Spot: 19200 Jerusalem Road, Poolesville (Sat bulk ≤499 lb). Last-checked 15 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
Montgomery County residents (proof of residency for residential users). County bulk: only properties with County-provided trash. Private/HOA trash: not eligible for county bulk. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
Depends on the pad — use the material pages above. Not every item is bulk; metal ≥51%, Freon appliances, HHW, electronics, and propane have separate rules. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
Many recyclable / HHW / eligible bulk paths: no extra resident fee as stated on those How Do I pages. Trash ≥500 lb at Transfer Station: fee schedule on the county fees page (not restated as a invented flat price here). Last-checked 15 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
Bulk: 5 collections / calendar year (county-trash customers). Self-haul no-charge trash: under 500 lb (Beauty Spot ≤499 lb). Material-specific caps on each kind page. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
311 or 240-777-0311. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
15 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
paint
bulk
mattresses
electronics
freon
hhw
facility Last-checked 15 Sep 2026. |
- Address
- Shady Grove campus + Poolesville Beauty Spot for eligible bulk self-haul — see map links above. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
- Who
- MoCo residents; county bulk only if you have County-provided trash. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
- What they take
- Material-specific — follow the linked kind pages. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- Free paths where the official pages say so; heavy trash fees on the county fees page. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
- Cap
- Bulk 5/year; self-haul weight rules; per-material caps on kind pages. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 15 Sep 2026
Sponsored / affiliate placeholder — paid junk haul
Status
Placeholder only — not a live affiliate booking link
Use only after free/DIY/county options above. No price, quote, or star rating on this page. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
Affiliate disclosure: MoCo Drop-Off may earn a commission if you later book through a live affiliate link. No affiliate program is live. The href below is a placeholder with no tracking ID. It does not go to a merchant checkout or a real affiliate network. No commission has been earned. See disclosure.
Intended later: 1-800-GOT-JUNK (or similar) when drop-off is too far — not applied · not a hauler endorsement
Sponsored haul placeholder
| Address |
Pickup at your address when you book with the hauler — not a county facility. This page does not list franchise yards. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
Residents who already checked free county / DIY paths and still need pickup. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
Bulky junk / clear-out loads as offered by the hauler you book — not stated as a fixed list here. Confirm with the hauler. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
not stated — no invented prices or “average job” claims on this page. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
Hauler load rules: not stated here. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
Hauler phone: use their site when a live link exists. Placeholder href only: #AFFILIATE_GOT_JUNK. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
15 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
disclosure Last-checked 15 Sep 2026. |
- Label
- Sponsored / affiliate placeholder — not the free county path. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- not stated. Last-checked 15 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 15 Sep 2026
Bring this / decide
- Open the material page first (paint, bulk, mattress, electronics, freon, HHW).
- Check whether you have County-provided trash before scheduling bulk (Collection Day Lookup or 311).
- Proof of residency for residential Transfer Station use.
- You unload at most drop-off pads — plan labor and a covered load if required.
- Paid haul is optional and labeled; this site is not booking the truck.
Not here
- Live affiliate checkout URLs or tracking IDs (placeholders only).
- Invented haul prices, “we tested,” reviews, or star ratings.
- Dumpster broker pages (queue #30 optional — skipped).
- Ads inside hours tables on material pages.
- Claiming to be montgomerycountymd.gov or a licensed hauler.
- Meds / sharps (YMYL — not this site).
Official sources