Hours, fees, and which states participate change. Confirm on the official page the morning you go. This page is unofficial and not the county. Not a hauler. Not PaintCare. This is the PaintCare-states explainer — MoCo leftover-paint and latex-vs-oil are different lookups. We do not scrape or clone the PaintCare store database.
In a PaintCare state — or not?
-
1
Yes — my state (or DC) is in the PaintCare list below?
PaintCare locator · free drop-off
Use the PaintCare drop-off site locator (blue flags). Call the site ahead. Free drop-off for accepted architectural coatings. State programs are for people based in that state (PaintCare FAQs). This page does not list retail addresses.
-
2
No — my state is not in PaintCare?
Local HHW · county rules
PaintCare FAQs / locator: non-PaintCare states show nearest local household hazardous waste (HHW) programs and events (gray flags). Or contact your local government waste authority. Dry-and-trash rules for latex, oil-based paths, hours, and caps: not stated on this page for other counties — confirm your local official page. Do not invent them here.
-
3
Maryland / Montgomery County resident?
PaintCare MD · plus MoCo HHW
Maryland is a PaintCare state (program began April 2026). Use the locator for retail / partner sites. You also have Shady Grove HHW / Paint Giveaway options — see leftover paint (MoCo geo) and latex vs oil. Wet HHW paint cap and residency rules live on those pages; this page does not restate inventable county hours.
-
4
Spray / aerosol, solvent, leaking, unlabeled, or empty can?
Not PaintCare · local HHW / trash rules
PaintCare sites do not accept aerosol coatings, solvents, leaking, unlabeled, or empty containers. Full spray-paint path is queue #15 later — not expanded here. For MoCo aerosols with product left: see leftover-paint / latex-vs-oil (HHW path).
-
5
100+ gallons of architectural paint?
PaintCare Large Volume Pickup
PaintCare offers Large Volume Pickup for 100+ gallons (counted by container size). Free service funded by the PaintCare fee. Request via PaintCare — not this site.
Do not pour paint down a drain, storm sewer, or as liquid in household trash. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
PaintCare jurisdictions
PaintCare’s states page: programs in twelve states and the District of Columbia. List below from that page (and the site nav). Launch dates for other jurisdictions: not stated on this fetch except Maryland. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026. Source: paintcare.org/paintcare-states.
PaintCare jurisdictions
| Jurisdiction |
Official state page |
Notes |
Last-checked |
| California |
PaintCare California |
Program start date on this fetch: not stated. |
9 Sep 2026 |
| Colorado |
PaintCare Colorado |
Program start date on this fetch: not stated. |
9 Sep 2026 |
| Connecticut |
PaintCare Connecticut |
Program start date on this fetch: not stated. |
9 Sep 2026 |
| District of Columbia |
PaintCare DC |
FAQs: only program that requires proof of residency at drop-off sites. |
9 Sep 2026 |
| Illinois |
PaintCare Illinois |
Program start date on this fetch: not stated on the states list page. |
9 Sep 2026 |
| Maine |
PaintCare Maine |
Program start date on this fetch: not stated. |
9 Sep 2026 |
| Maryland |
PaintCare Maryland |
Program began April 2026. 113 year-round sites stated on MD page as of this fetch. |
9 Sep 2026 |
| Minnesota |
PaintCare Minnesota |
Program start date on this fetch: not stated. |
9 Sep 2026 |
| New York |
PaintCare New York |
Program start date on this fetch: not stated. |
9 Sep 2026 |
| Oregon |
PaintCare Oregon |
Program start date on this fetch: not stated. |
9 Sep 2026 |
| Rhode Island |
PaintCare Rhode Island |
Program start date on this fetch: not stated. |
9 Sep 2026 |
| Vermont |
PaintCare Vermont |
Program start date on this fetch: not stated. |
9 Sep 2026 |
| Washington |
PaintCare Washington |
Program start date on this fetch: not stated. |
9 Sep 2026 |
Count: 12 states + DC = 13 jurisdictions. Source last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
What PaintCare typically accepts vs refuses
- Accepted (PaintCare products / architectural coatings): interior and exterior house paints (latex, acrylic, water-based, alkyd, oil-based, enamel); deck coatings and floor paints; primers, sealers, undercoaters; stains; shellacs, lacquers, varnishes, urethanes (single component); waterproofing concrete/masonry/wood sealers and repellents (not tar or bitumen-based); metal coatings / rust preventatives; field and lawn paints. Same products that carry the PaintCare fee when purchased. Source: products we accept. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
- Container rules: original manufacturer container and printed label; secured lid; no leaks; container no larger than 5 gallons. Pack cans in a sturdy cardboard box. Call ahead. Source: products page / FAQs / drop-off page. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
- Not accepted: paint thinners, mineral spirits, solvents; aerosol coatings; auto and marine paints; art and craft paints; caulk, epoxies, glues, adhesives; paint additives / colorants / tints / resins; wood preservatives containing pesticides; roof patch; asphalt, tar, bitumen-based products; 2-component coatings; deck cleaners; traffic / road marking paints; industrial maintenance coatings; OEM / shop-application paints. Also: leaking, empty, or unlabeled containers. Source: products we accept / drop-off locator notes. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
- Per-visit volume: all sites accept at least 5 gallons per visit; some take more — call the site. Source: drop-off sites page. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
- Dry / rock-hard paint: FAQs prefer not to receive it (no recycle tech for rock-hard); rock-hard can often go in trash with lid off so collectors can see it is dry — except California, where placing dried paint in the trash is prohibited and it can be dropped at PaintCare sites. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Find a site (locator only)
Open PaintCare drop-off site locator
Blue flags = PaintCare partner sites in program states. Gray flags = non-PaintCare-state HHW listings. Confirm hours and whether the site can take your type and amount. This page does not scrape or list store addresses. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Where to go (program info — not a store list)
PaintCare (national program)
Hours
Store / site hours — call ahead
Locator is not a scrape. This page does not list retail addresses. Confirm hours and whether the site can take the type and amount you have. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
PaintCare states · products we accept · FAQs
PaintCare national program
| Address |
Use the PaintCare drop-off site locator. Do not clone their database. This page does not list store addresses. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
Households, businesses, government agencies, and others with leftover paint — for people based in that PaintCare state (FAQs). Not all retailers participate (FAQs: typically about twenty percent of paint retailers in a state). Last-checked 9 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
Architectural coatings that carry the PaintCare fee (see accept / refuse list above). Not accepted: aerosols, solvents, leaking, unlabeled, or empty containers. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
Free drop-off. Program funded by a point-of-sale PaintCare fee on new architectural paint in each PaintCare state. Fee ranges by container size and state (FAQs: about 30 cents to $2.75). Not a tax or a deposit. State-by-state chart: PaintCare fee page. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
All sites accept at least 5 gallons per visit; some take more. Call the site. 100+ gallons: Large Volume Pickup. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
855-724-6809 (855-PAINT09). Last-checked 9 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
9 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
states
locator
products
FAQs Last-checked 9 Sep 2026. |
- Who
- Households, businesses, government agencies, and others with leftover paint — for people based in that PaintCare state (FAQs). Not all retailers participate (FAQs: typically about twenty percent of paint retailers in a state). Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
- What they take
- Architectural coatings that carry the PaintCare fee (see accept / refuse list above). Not accepted: aerosols, solvents, leaking, unlabeled, or empty containers. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- Free drop-off. Program funded by a point-of-sale PaintCare fee on new architectural paint in each PaintCare state. Fee ranges by container size and state (FAQs: about 30 cents to $2.75). Not a tax or a deposit. State-by-state chart: PaintCare fee page. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
- Cap
- All sites accept at least 5 gallons per visit; some take more. Call the site. 100+ gallons: Large Volume Pickup. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 9 Sep 2026
PaintCare Maryland (locator — no store list)
Hours
Store / site hours — call ahead
Locator is not a scrape. This page does not list retail addresses. Confirm hours and whether the site can take the type and amount you have. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
PaintCare Maryland · MoCo leftover paint · latex vs oil
PaintCare Maryland drop-off (locator only)
| Address |
Use the PaintCare drop-off site locator. Do not clone their database. This page does not list store addresses. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
Households, businesses, government agencies, and others with leftover paint. State programs are available to residents and businesses based in that state (PaintCare FAQs). Maryland program began April 2026; 113 year-round sites stated on the Maryland page as of this fetch — not a Montgomery County store list. Oversight: Maryland Department of the Environment. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
Architectural coatings that carry the PaintCare fee: house paint (latex and oil-based), primers, stains, sealers, shellac, varnish, and related PaintCare products. Not accepted: aerosol coatings, solvents, auto/marine/art paints, leaking, unlabeled, or empty containers. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
Free drop-off. Program funded by a point-of-sale PaintCare fee on new paint in Maryland: $0.00 half-pint or smaller; $0.50 larger than half-pint to smaller than 1 gallon; $1.15 for 1–2 gallons; $2.25 larger than 2 gallons up to 5 gallons. Not a tax or a deposit. Gallons collected to date (PaintCare estimate on MD page): 42,900. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
All sites accept at least 5 gallons per visit; some take more. Call the site. 100+ gallons: Large Volume Pickup (PaintCare). Last-checked 9 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
855-724-6809 (855-PAINT09). Last-checked 9 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
9 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
PaintCare Maryland
locator
products
FAQs Last-checked 9 Sep 2026. |
- Who
- Households, businesses, government agencies, and others with leftover paint. State programs are available to residents and businesses based in that state (PaintCare FAQs). Maryland program began April 2026; 113 year-round sites stated on the Maryland page as of this fetch — not a Montgomery County store list. Oversight: Maryland Department of the Environment. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
- What they take
- Architectural coatings that carry the PaintCare fee: house paint (latex and oil-based), primers, stains, sealers, shellac, varnish, and related PaintCare products. Not accepted: aerosol coatings, solvents, auto/marine/art paints, leaking, unlabeled, or empty containers. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- Free drop-off. Program funded by a point-of-sale PaintCare fee on new paint in Maryland: $0.00 half-pint or smaller; $0.50 larger than half-pint to smaller than 1 gallon; $1.15 for 1–2 gallons; $2.25 larger than 2 gallons up to 5 gallons. Not a tax or a deposit. Gallons collected to date (PaintCare estimate on MD page): 42,900. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
- Cap
- All sites accept at least 5 gallons per visit; some take more. Call the site. 100+ gallons: Large Volume Pickup (PaintCare). Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 9 Sep 2026
Bring this
- PaintCare: original manufacturer container and label, secured lid, no leaks, container ≤5 gallons. Pack cans in a sturdy cardboard box. Call the site ahead.
- Be based in the PaintCare state whose sites you use (FAQs). DC may ask for proof of residency.
- For Montgomery County HHW / Paint Giveaway instead of (or in addition to) PaintCare: proof of residency and the geo rules on leftover paint — not restated inventably here.
Not here
- A scraped list of PaintCare retail stores (use the locator).
- Invented hours, fees, star ratings, or “we tested” claims for non-PaintCare counties.
- PaintCare: aerosol coatings, solvents, leaking, unlabeled, or empty containers.
- Full spray-paint / aerosol page (queue #15 — brief note only here).
- Impersonating PaintCare, MDE, or Montgomery County.
- Meds / sharps pages (YMYL — not this site).
Official sources