Unofficial lookup · not Montgomery County · not a hauler

MoCo Drop-Off

Which states have PaintCare paint drop-off? (unofficial)

PaintCare runs free architectural-paint drop-off in 12 states + DC. Everywhere else: local HHW / county rules. Maryland (including Montgomery County) is in. Locator link only — no scraped store list. Last checked 9 Sep 2026

Hours, fees, and which states participate change. Confirm on the official page the morning you go. This page is unofficial and not the county. Not a hauler. Not PaintCare. This is the PaintCare-states explainer — MoCo leftover-paint and latex-vs-oil are different lookups. We do not scrape or clone the PaintCare store database.

In a PaintCare state — or not?

  1. Yes — my state (or DC) is in the PaintCare list below?

    PaintCare locator · free drop-off

    Use the PaintCare drop-off site locator (blue flags). Call the site ahead. Free drop-off for accepted architectural coatings. State programs are for people based in that state (PaintCare FAQs). This page does not list retail addresses.

  2. No — my state is not in PaintCare?

    Local HHW · county rules

    PaintCare FAQs / locator: non-PaintCare states show nearest local household hazardous waste (HHW) programs and events (gray flags). Or contact your local government waste authority. Dry-and-trash rules for latex, oil-based paths, hours, and caps: not stated on this page for other counties — confirm your local official page. Do not invent them here.

  3. Maryland / Montgomery County resident?

    PaintCare MD · plus MoCo HHW

    Maryland is a PaintCare state (program began April 2026). Use the locator for retail / partner sites. You also have Shady Grove HHW / Paint Giveaway options — see leftover paint (MoCo geo) and latex vs oil. Wet HHW paint cap and residency rules live on those pages; this page does not restate inventable county hours.

  4. Spray / aerosol, solvent, leaking, unlabeled, or empty can?

    Not PaintCare · local HHW / trash rules

    PaintCare sites do not accept aerosol coatings, solvents, leaking, unlabeled, or empty containers. Full spray-paint path is queue #15 later — not expanded here. For MoCo aerosols with product left: see leftover-paint / latex-vs-oil (HHW path).

  5. 100+ gallons of architectural paint?

    PaintCare Large Volume Pickup

    PaintCare offers Large Volume Pickup for 100+ gallons (counted by container size). Free service funded by the PaintCare fee. Request via PaintCare — not this site.

Do not pour paint down a drain, storm sewer, or as liquid in household trash. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.

PaintCare jurisdictions

PaintCare’s states page: programs in twelve states and the District of Columbia. List below from that page (and the site nav). Launch dates for other jurisdictions: not stated on this fetch except Maryland. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026. Source: paintcare.org/paintcare-states.

PaintCare jurisdictions
Jurisdiction Official state page Notes Last-checked
California PaintCare California Program start date on this fetch: not stated. 9 Sep 2026
Colorado PaintCare Colorado Program start date on this fetch: not stated. 9 Sep 2026
Connecticut PaintCare Connecticut Program start date on this fetch: not stated. 9 Sep 2026
District of Columbia PaintCare DC FAQs: only program that requires proof of residency at drop-off sites. 9 Sep 2026
Illinois PaintCare Illinois Program start date on this fetch: not stated on the states list page. 9 Sep 2026
Maine PaintCare Maine Program start date on this fetch: not stated. 9 Sep 2026
Maryland PaintCare Maryland Program began April 2026. 113 year-round sites stated on MD page as of this fetch. 9 Sep 2026
Minnesota PaintCare Minnesota Program start date on this fetch: not stated. 9 Sep 2026
New York PaintCare New York Program start date on this fetch: not stated. 9 Sep 2026
Oregon PaintCare Oregon Program start date on this fetch: not stated. 9 Sep 2026
Rhode Island PaintCare Rhode Island Program start date on this fetch: not stated. 9 Sep 2026
Vermont PaintCare Vermont Program start date on this fetch: not stated. 9 Sep 2026
Washington PaintCare Washington Program start date on this fetch: not stated. 9 Sep 2026

Count: 12 states + DC = 13 jurisdictions. Source last-checked 9 Sep 2026.

What PaintCare typically accepts vs refuses

Find a site (locator only)

Open PaintCare drop-off site locator

Blue flags = PaintCare partner sites in program states. Gray flags = non-PaintCare-state HHW listings. Confirm hours and whether the site can take your type and amount. This page does not scrape or list store addresses. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.

Where to go (program info — not a store list)

PaintCare (national program)

Hours

Store / site hours — call ahead

Locator is not a scrape. This page does not list retail addresses. Confirm hours and whether the site can take the type and amount you have. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.

PaintCare states · products we accept · FAQs

PaintCare national program
Address Use the PaintCare drop-off site locator. Do not clone their database. This page does not list store addresses. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Who Households, businesses, government agencies, and others with leftover paint — for people based in that PaintCare state (FAQs). Not all retailers participate (FAQs: typically about twenty percent of paint retailers in a state). Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
What they take Architectural coatings that carry the PaintCare fee (see accept / refuse list above). Not accepted: aerosols, solvents, leaking, unlabeled, or empty containers. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Fee Free drop-off. Program funded by a point-of-sale PaintCare fee on new architectural paint in each PaintCare state. Fee ranges by container size and state (FAQs: about 30 cents to $2.75). Not a tax or a deposit. State-by-state chart: PaintCare fee page. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Cap All sites accept at least 5 gallons per visit; some take more. Call the site. 100+ gallons: Large Volume Pickup. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Phone 855-724-6809 (855-PAINT09). Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Last-checked 9 Sep 2026
Source states locator products FAQs Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Address
Use the PaintCare drop-off site locator. Do not clone their database. This page does not list store addresses. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Who
Households, businesses, government agencies, and others with leftover paint — for people based in that PaintCare state (FAQs). Not all retailers participate (FAQs: typically about twenty percent of paint retailers in a state). Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
What they take
Architectural coatings that carry the PaintCare fee (see accept / refuse list above). Not accepted: aerosols, solvents, leaking, unlabeled, or empty containers. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Fee
Free drop-off. Program funded by a point-of-sale PaintCare fee on new architectural paint in each PaintCare state. Fee ranges by container size and state (FAQs: about 30 cents to $2.75). Not a tax or a deposit. State-by-state chart: PaintCare fee page. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Cap
All sites accept at least 5 gallons per visit; some take more. Call the site. 100+ gallons: Large Volume Pickup. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Phone
855-724-6809 (855-PAINT09). Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Last-checked
9 Sep 2026
Source
states locator products FAQs Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.

PaintCare Maryland (locator — no store list)

Hours

Store / site hours — call ahead

Locator is not a scrape. This page does not list retail addresses. Confirm hours and whether the site can take the type and amount you have. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.

PaintCare Maryland · MoCo leftover paint · latex vs oil

PaintCare Maryland drop-off (locator only)
Address Use the PaintCare drop-off site locator. Do not clone their database. This page does not list store addresses. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Who Households, businesses, government agencies, and others with leftover paint. State programs are available to residents and businesses based in that state (PaintCare FAQs). Maryland program began April 2026; 113 year-round sites stated on the Maryland page as of this fetch — not a Montgomery County store list. Oversight: Maryland Department of the Environment. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
What they take Architectural coatings that carry the PaintCare fee: house paint (latex and oil-based), primers, stains, sealers, shellac, varnish, and related PaintCare products. Not accepted: aerosol coatings, solvents, auto/marine/art paints, leaking, unlabeled, or empty containers. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Fee Free drop-off. Program funded by a point-of-sale PaintCare fee on new paint in Maryland: $0.00 half-pint or smaller; $0.50 larger than half-pint to smaller than 1 gallon; $1.15 for 1–2 gallons; $2.25 larger than 2 gallons up to 5 gallons. Not a tax or a deposit. Gallons collected to date (PaintCare estimate on MD page): 42,900. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Cap All sites accept at least 5 gallons per visit; some take more. Call the site. 100+ gallons: Large Volume Pickup (PaintCare). Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Phone 855-724-6809 (855-PAINT09). Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Last-checked 9 Sep 2026
Source PaintCare Maryland locator products FAQs Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Address
Use the PaintCare drop-off site locator. Do not clone their database. This page does not list store addresses. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Who
Households, businesses, government agencies, and others with leftover paint. State programs are available to residents and businesses based in that state (PaintCare FAQs). Maryland program began April 2026; 113 year-round sites stated on the Maryland page as of this fetch — not a Montgomery County store list. Oversight: Maryland Department of the Environment. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
What they take
Architectural coatings that carry the PaintCare fee: house paint (latex and oil-based), primers, stains, sealers, shellac, varnish, and related PaintCare products. Not accepted: aerosol coatings, solvents, auto/marine/art paints, leaking, unlabeled, or empty containers. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Fee
Free drop-off. Program funded by a point-of-sale PaintCare fee on new paint in Maryland: $0.00 half-pint or smaller; $0.50 larger than half-pint to smaller than 1 gallon; $1.15 for 1–2 gallons; $2.25 larger than 2 gallons up to 5 gallons. Not a tax or a deposit. Gallons collected to date (PaintCare estimate on MD page): 42,900. Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Cap
All sites accept at least 5 gallons per visit; some take more. Call the site. 100+ gallons: Large Volume Pickup (PaintCare). Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Phone
855-724-6809 (855-PAINT09). Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.
Last-checked
9 Sep 2026
Source
PaintCare Maryland locator products FAQs Last-checked 9 Sep 2026.

Bring this

Not here

Official sources