Local rules, which stores accept alkaline, and DDR paths change. Confirm on the official page the morning you go. This page is unofficial and not the county. Not a hauler. Not The Battery Network. Not Call2Recycle. Not EPA. This is the national batteries explainer — the Montgomery County geo batteries page is a different lookup. We do not scrape or clone Battery Network / Call2Recycle / Earth911 databases.
Which kind is it?
-
1
Alkaline / zinc-carbon (AA, AAA, C, D, 9V — single-use)?
Often trash · or recycle if local / retailer accepts
EPA Used Household Batteries: in most communities these can go in household trash; EPA still recommends battery recyclers or your local/state solid waste authority. Some jurisdictions refuse trash disposal — Montgomery County, MD does (HHW / county paths on the geo page). Battery Network: primary alkaline accepted at select partners only — check the locator listing. Terminal protection: Battery Network says alkaline usually need none unless marked Lithium.
-
2
Rechargeable — NiMH, Li-ion, Ni-Cd, Ni-Zn, tool packs, small sealed lead-acid (SSLA)?
Recycle · never trash or blue bin
EPA: do not put rechargeables in trash or municipal recycling. Removable packs → specialized recyclers, retail take-back, or HHW. Devices with non-removable packs → certified electronics recyclers, retail electronics take-back, or local HHW / electronics programs. Tape terminals or bag each battery. Use The Battery Network locator or Earth911 (link only).
-
3
Button / coin cell or lithium primary (single-use “Lithium” on the label)?
Recycle · tape or bag · not trash
EPA: do not put button-cell, coin, or lithium single-use batteries in trash or municipal recycling bins. Bag separately or tape terminals (or wrap the whole button). Look for the word “Lithium” on the cell. Battery Network lists lithium primary and coin/button under primary batteries — select partners; confirm on locator. Keep away from young children (swallowing hazard — EPA).
-
4
Car / boat / wet-cell lead-acid battery?
Battery retailer or HHW · not trash
EPA Automotive Batteries: return lead-acid to a battery retailer or local solid / household hazardous waste program; do not put in trash or municipal recycling. Contains sulfuric acid and lead — follow battery warnings. Battery Network consumer collection boxes are for dry-cell / household programs — wet-cell car batteries are a different path (retailer exchange / HHW). MoCo residents: see geo /batteries.
-
5
E-bike, scooter, lawn equipment, or other medium-format / high-energy pack?
Locator · specialty / brand programs
Battery Network: medium-format (e-bikes, scooters, outdoor power) and high-energy packs may need specialty partners; e-bike and high-energy programs accept participating brands only. Some locator sites accept e-bike or high-energy (>300 Wh) — check the listing. EV traction packs: certified EV recovery only — not a consumer box. Fees and brand lists: not stated as a national flat number here — confirm at locator / manufacturer.
-
6
Damaged, swollen, leaking, overheating Li-ion — or recalled pack?
Special handling · not the retail box
Battery Network: do not put DDR lithium in trash, home recycling, or standard collection boxes. Isolate; place in non-flammable material such as sand or kitty litter per their safety page; contact the manufacturer. Recalled packs: not accepted at Battery Network sites — manufacturer instructions. Locator may show damaged/defective sites in IL, NY, VT, and DC. Corroded alkaline is not “damaged” under their definition. MoCo: county How Do I has no separate DDR procedure — call 311 (geo page).
-
7
Montgomery County, MD resident?
MoCo geo · not this national dump
County takes a stricter path than “most communities” alkaline-in-trash. Use live geo mocodropoff.com/batteries for HHW, on-call curbside, ECOWISE, and refuse-from-trash rules. This explainer does not invent MoCo hours or fees.
Related: MoCo batteries (live geo) · HHW (draft) · electronics (draft) · bulbs (draft). Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
Chemistry → general US path
National guidance from EPA and The Battery Network (formerly Call2Recycle). Local bans and HHW rules override “most communities” trash language. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
Battery chemistry and general US disposal path
| Kind |
General US guidance |
Prep |
Last-checked |
Source |
| Alkaline / zinc-carbon |
Most communities: household trash allowed. EPA recommends recycling or ask local/state authority. Some localities ban trash disposal. |
Battery Network: usually no tape unless marked Lithium. |
12 Sep 2026 |
EPA household; Battery Network |
| Rechargeable (Ni-Cd, NiMH, Li-ion, Ni-Zn, SSLA) |
Do not trash or put in municipal recycling. Retail take-back, specialized recycler, or HHW. Devices with sealed packs → electronics / HHW paths. |
Bag each battery or tape terminals (non-conductive). |
12 Sep 2026 |
EPA household; EPA Li-ion |
| Button / coin / lithium primary |
Do not trash or municipal recycle. Specialized recycler, retail take-back, or HHW. |
Bag or tape terminals / wrap button. Identify “Lithium” on label. |
12 Sep 2026 |
EPA household; Battery Network primary |
| Automotive lead-acid |
Return to battery retailer or local HHW / solid waste program. Not trash / not blue bin. |
Follow battery warnings (acid / lead). Not a dry-cell collection-box item. |
12 Sep 2026 |
EPA household (automotive) |
| Damaged / defective Li-ion or recalled |
Not standard retail boxes. Manufacturer instructions; Battery Network DDR guidance; limited trained sites (IL, NY, VT, DC per BN safety). |
Isolate; non-flammable fill (sand / kitty litter per BN). Never trash / blue bin / standard box. |
12 Sep 2026 |
Battery Network safety |
Fee for consumer retail drop-off: not stated as a single national price — confirm at the locator listing or program. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
Where to go (program info — not a store list)
The Battery Network (formerly Call2Recycle) — locator
Hours
Retail / partner site hours — call ahead
Locator is not a scrape. This page does not list store addresses. Primary (alkaline) accepted at select partners only. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
What to recycle · Safety / DDR · call2recycle.org · Drop-off line 877-2-RECYCLE
Battery Network national program
| Address |
Use the Battery Network drop-off locator (ZIP). Do not clone their database. This page does not list retailers. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
Consumers dropping household and rechargeable batteries at participating sites. Specialty e-bike / high-energy: participating brands and sites only. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
Rechargeable: Li-ion, Ni-Cd, NiMH, SSLA (and related household rechargeables). Primary: alkaline (AAA–9V), lithium primary, coin/button — select partners. Medium-format / e-bike / high-energy: specialty programs; check listing. Cellphones noted on kit materials. Wet-cell car batteries: not the dry-cell consumer box path. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
Consumer drop-off fee: not stated as a national flat rate on the locator/home pages fetched — confirm at the site. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
Per-site weight / chemistry limits: not stated as a single national consumer max on the locator page — check listing / call the store. Kit materials mention individual batteries and Wh limits for shippable kits — that is partner shipping, not inventable as your local store’s public cap. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
Customer service: 877-723-1297. Drop-off locator line: 877-2-RECYCLE. Email: connect@batterynetwork.org. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
12 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
locator
what to recycle
safety
home (Call2Recycle → Battery Network) Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
- Who
- Consumers at participating sites; specialty packs = brand/site check. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
- What they take
- Rechargeables; primary at select partners; specialty medium-format per listing. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- not stated as a national flat consumer fee — confirm at site. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
- Cap
- National single consumer max: not stated — check listing. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 12 Sep 2026
EPA guidance + Earth911 locator (link only)
Hours
Varies by local program — not an EPA facility
EPA pages link Earth911 and Call2Recycle for find-a-site. This page does not scrape Earth911 results. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
EPA Li-ion · Call2Recycle.org
EPA and Earth911 pointer card
| Address |
No national EPA drop-off address. Use Earth911 or Battery Network / Call2Recycle locators. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
US households following EPA consumer guidance; local programs set who-is-allowed. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
See chemistry table above. EPA recommends recycling alkaline when possible; requires separate management for rechargeables, lithium primary / button, lead-acid, and Li-ion devices. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
not stated on EPA consumer pages as a national fee. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
not stated nationally. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
EPA public contact for this topic: not stated as a single consumer hotline on the pages fetched — use Battery Network lines above or your local solid waste authority. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
12 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
EPA household
EPA Li-ion
Earth911 Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
- Address
- No EPA facility list — use locators. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
- Who
- US households; local programs set eligibility. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
- What they take
- See chemistry table / EPA pages. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- not stated nationally. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
- Cap
- not stated nationally. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
- Phone
- not stated as a single EPA consumer hotline on fetched pages. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 12 Sep 2026
Montgomery County, MD (local — geo page)
Hours
See live geo batteries page / facility hours
This national explainer does not restate inventable MoCo HHW or curbside clocks. Alkaline-in-trash does not apply in MoCo per county How Do I. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
How Do I — batteries · HHW draft
Pointer to Montgomery County batteries geo page
| Address |
Shady Grove HHW and county curbside rules — details on mocodropoff.com/batteries, not duplicated inventably here. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
| Who |
Montgomery County residents / businesses per county How Do I — not a national Battery Network rule. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
| What they take |
See geo page / How Do I material key 22 (all chemistries including alkaline at HHW). Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
| Fee |
See geo page (resident HHW vs ECOWISE). Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
| Cap |
See geo page (brief: no battery quantity limit at HHW on How Do I). Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
| Phone |
311 or 240-777-0311. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
| Last-checked |
12 Sep 2026 |
| Source |
geo page
How Do I Last-checked 12 Sep 2026. |
- Who
- Montgomery County per How Do I. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
- What they take
- See geo page / How Do I 22. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
- Fee
- See geo page. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
- Cap
- See geo page. Last-checked 12 Sep 2026.
- Last-checked
- 12 Sep 2026
Bring this / prep
- Identify chemistry from the label (Li-ion, NiMH, Ni-Cd, Lithium, alkaline) — EPA: type is by marking, not shape or color alone.
- Bag each rechargeable / lithium / button cell in a clear bag, or tape the positive terminal with clear packing, electrical, or duct tape (Battery Network). Avoid masking / painters / Scotch tape.
- Soft-sided packs: bubble-wrap bags (Battery Network).
- Do not mix loose lithium cells with coins, keys, or other metal in a pocket or container.
- Call the retailer or check the locator listing for alkaline vs rechargeable vs e-bike acceptance before you drive.
- MoCo: proof of residency and tape/bag rules live on the geo batteries page.
Not here / caution
- A scraped list of Battery Network, Call2Recycle, or Earth911 stores (use the locators).
- Invented national drop-off fees, star ratings, or “we tested” claims.
- Damaged / swollen / overheating Li-ion or recalled packs in a standard retail collection box (Battery Network refuses; manufacturer path).
- Wet-cell car batteries treated as dry-cell retail-box items.
- Full MoCo HHW hours / ECOWISE fee table (that is the live geo page).
- Meds / sharps pages (YMYL — not this site).
Official sources